James Vargas is a recording artist with Duffnote, Defected, Ministry of Sound, Guess, Sophisitacado, Solid Ground, Deep n Soul and Hed Kandi. He has featured on recordings with Boy George, Richard Earnshaw, Copyright, Imaani, George Solar, Carleen Anderson, Jocelyn Brown, Ben Collier, Dolls Combers, Mark Di Meo and Oli Silk, and has performed live with Culture Club, Julie McKnight, Lisa Millet, Paloma Faith, Ron Carrol, Shovell, Graeme Park, Kenny Thomas, DJ Spen, Brandon Block, DJ Oliver, James Reid and Javier Barreda amongst many others.


Last year saw James’ signature sax sound rise to no 8 in the coveted traxsource annual top 10 highest sellers with his long time friend and collaborator Richard Earnshaw’s underground smash, “iCulture”


James has been touring for the last 3 years with British icon Boy George and his band, comprised of some of the very finest session musicians and singers around, including Grammy nominated hit songwriter and multi-instrumentalist John Themis, legendary drummer and producer Richie Stevens, and Tony nominated composer and multi-instrumentalist Kevan Frost. The 3 piece horn section with fast rising new Brit jazz star Reuben Fowler on trumpet and flugelhorn and session supremo Dave Liddell on trombone were regularly singled out for special mention in reviews for their UK tour in November 2013.


Boy George’s new album “This is what I do” produced by Richie Stevens, has been heralded as “the comeback of the decade” by the Guardian as well as receiving unanimous worldwide critical acclaim.


A further tour of the UK, Europe and The USA begins in April 2014